Swimming Lessons for Kids

kids swimming lessons in Lancaster, PA
Black Rock Retreat is pleased to offer swimming lessons for kids in Lancaster County for the 2018 summer season!

Basic Information:

  • Ages: 4-12
  • 8 morning lessons – 45 minutes per lesson over a 2 week period.
  • Dates: See below.
  • Cost for the 8 lessons: $50.
  • Class taught according to Red Cross Water Safety Instructor (WSI) standards.
  • Maximum of 4 students per instructor/assistant for beginner class.
  • Maximum of 6 students per instructor/assistant for intermediate class.
  • Classes are filled on a first-come, first-served basis.
  • Location: Black Rock Retreat in Quarryville, PA (directions)

Register Now »

2018 Classes:

Beginner Level Swimming Classes – June 11-22

Introduction to Water Skills: Helps students feel comfortable in the water and to enjoy the water safely. Will start working on fundamental skills.

Monday, June 11 – Thursday, June 14 – 11:00-11:45 am
Monday, June 18 – Thursday, June 21 – 11:00-11:45 am

Bad Weather Make-Up Days: Fridays

Register Now »

Beginner Level Swimming Classes – June 25 – July 6

Introduction to Water Skills: Helps students feel comfortable in the water and to enjoy the water safely. Will start working on fundamental skills.

Monday, June 25 – Thursday, June 28 – 11:00-11:45 am
Monday, July 2 & Tuesday, July 3 at 11:00-11:45 am (off for July 4th) and then Thursday July 5 – 8:30-9:15 am

Bad Weather Make-Up Days: Fridays

Register Now »

Intermediate Level Swimming Classes – July 9-20

Development of Fundamental Skills: Gives students success with fundamental skills. Stroke development, floating, treading, gaining confidence in deeper water.

Monday, July 9 – Thursday, July 12 – 11:00-11:45 am
Monday, July 16 – 11:00-11:45 am and then Tuesday, July 17 – Thursday, July 19 – 8:30-9:15 am

Bad Weather Make-Up Days: Fridays

Register Now »

Swim Class Rules / Dress Code:

  1. We require that girls wear modest bathing suits (no bare mid-drifts or bikinis) and boys wear modest swimming trunks (no bikini, Speedo style). Lifeguards will require girls to put on a colored T-shirt if this is not followed.
  2. Any swimmer with pink eye, open wounds or infections will not be allowed in the water.
  3. Please be respectful of the lifeguards. They are there for your safety and have the authority to stop a situation or close an area/activity which they deem as unsafe. They also have the authority to ask someone to leave the pool if they are not following the rules.

Register Now »